Audubon seeks nominations for awards

New Hampshire Audubon’s Board of Trustees seeks nominations for the following awards to be presented at the Annual Meeting of the membership. Deadline for nominations is April 1.

The Tudor Richards Award is presented annually to the person who best exemplifies Tudor’s love and knowledge of the outdoors and who has worked tirelessly and effectively on behalf of conservation in New Hampshire. Past recipients include Art Mudge (2012), Geoff Jones (2011), and Rick Van de Poll (2010).

The Goodhue-Elkins Award is presented annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the study of New Hampshire birds.

The award is named for Charles Goodhue, one of the state’s great pioneer birders, and Kimball Elkins, the model of critical observation and insightful record-keeping. Past recipients include Roger Lawrence (2012), Stephen R. Mirick (2011), and Robert A. Quinn (2010).

Both awards are merit-based and affiliation with New Hampshire Audubon is not a requirement. A list of past recipients and nomination forms are available from the N.H. Audubon website, or from Rebecca Suomala (224-9909 x309), Be sure to include a mailing address.

For information on New Hampshire Audubon, including membership, volunteering, programs, sanctuaries, and publications, call 224-9909 or visit

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.