Hi 32° | Lo 17°


Candidates lining up for upcoming races

Filing period ends Friday; three Republicans vying to challenge Kuster for Congress

It’s time again for voters to start studying candidates for state and national offices. Many familiar names will appear on the ballot for state representative seats, as the majority have come forward to put their names down for another term, but there are also a few new faces putting their hats in the ring.

The filing period ends Friday . Any candidates filing on Friday must do so in person with the proper filing official. If more than one candidate from the same party files for an office, a primary will be held on Sept. 9, in anticipation of the General Election on Nov. 4. State representative candidates should file with the town clerk in their town of residence. All other filings should be submitted through the Secretary of State’s Office.

Governor, U.S. Senate and other offices

As of press time Wednesday, two candidates had filed to fill the governor’s seat — Walt Havenstein and Jonathan Smolin, both Acton Republicans. They will, however, be facing Democratic incumbent Maggie Hassan, who announced in a press release Wednesday that she expected to file for the position Thursday morning.

U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-Madbury) filed for the office again, along with multiple Republican candidates, including Scott Brown (R-Rye), Andy Martin (R-Manchester), Gerard Beloin (R-Colebrook), Robert D’Arcy (R-Keene), Bob Heghmann (R-Wolfboro) and Jim Rubens (R-Hanover).

Democrat Annie Kuster, the U.S. House representative for District 2, which includes Hillsborough and Cheshire counties, will have competition this year on the ballot. Three Republican candidates — Marilinda Garcia (R-Salem), Gary Lambert (R-Nashua) and Jim Lawrence (R-Hudson) — have filed and will compete for their party’s nomination for the seat.

Two area Republican state senators, Bob Odell, who represents Senate District 8, which covers multiple towns including Antrim, Bennington and Francestown, and Peter Bragdon, who serves District 11, which includes Wilton, have both announced that they will not be running for reelection this year. As of press time Wednesday, Republican Jerry Little of Weare was the only candidate to have filed for District 8. Stepping up to spar for the District 11 seat as of press time Wednesday were Republicans Gary L. Daniels of Milford, Daniel Dwyer of Merrimack, Dan Hynes of Merrimack and Maureen Mooney of Merrimack.

Senate District 9, which includes Greenfield, Hancock, Jaffrey, Lyndeborough, Peterborough, Sharon and Temple, among other towns, will see a renewal of the race between Bedford Republican Andy Sanborn and Democrat Lee Nyquist of New Boston. Nyquist and Sanborn duked it out over the same seat two years ago, with Sanborn winning narrowly.

Debora Pignatelli is not seeking re-election to the Executive Council seat for District 5, which includes many Monadnock area towns. Jennifer Daler, a Temple Democrat, has thrown her hat in the ring, alongside another Democrat, Diane Shaheen of Nashua. Dave Wheeler, a Milford Republican, has filed for his party’s nomination.

State Representatives for Cheshire County

In District 9, which includes Dublin, Jaffrey, Harrisville and Roxbury, Democratic incumbents Dick Ames and Doug Ley, both of Jaffrey, have signed up to run again this year. Two Jaffrey residents, Roger Creekmore and William McKenzie, will be running as Republican candidates for the two seats.

District 14 will say goodbye to Harry Young, (D-Jaffrey) who is retiring as state representative due to health concerns. Young is instead endorsing Rindge resident and Democrat Pat Martin, who will be on the ticket against Republican Franklin W. Sterling Jr. of Jaffrey for the district’s single seat.

Martin announced her intent to run, along with Ames and Ley, in a June 3 letter to the editor.

“Pat Martin is a really sharp lady, she is just incredible. She will fill my shoes and over. She’s everything that you would want in a legislator. She’ll work well with other people and, when it comes to environment and climate change, she’s right at the top of the list,” said Young in an interview this week.

Martin, in an interview Wednesday, said that she has had a growing interest in state politics. “Each passing year, I’m more interested in what’s going on in Concord because it affects us here,” she said. Martin noted that if elected, she will be emulating Ames and Ley. “I’ve been very impressed with their civility, common sense and pragmatic solutions,” she said.

So far, District 11, which includes Fitzwilliam and Rindge, appears to be maintaining the status quo. John Hunt, (R-Rindge) was the only registered candidate for the district as of by press time Wednesday. Hunt confirmed that his fellow incumbent Susan Emerson (R-Rindge) would also be running again for the two-seat district.

Hunt is a longtime occupant of the seat.

“I think my constituents know where I stand, and know exactly what they’re getting with me. My voting record does not waver, I’m not against something after I’m for it, or for it after I’m against it,” he said.

State Representatives for Hillsborough County

In District 1, which includes Antrim, Hillsborough and Windsor, Democratic incumbents Marjorie Porter and Gilman Shattuck, both of Hillsborough, have both signed up to be considered for re-election as state representatives this year.

Richard Eaton (D-Greenville) has said that he will not be filing to run for state representative again this year for Hillsborough District 38, which covers 10 towns including Antrim, Bennington, Francestown, Greenfield, Greenville, Hancock, Lyndeborough and Wilton. Republican Frank Edelblut of Wilton has filed for the Republican nomination for that seat.

In 2012, Edelblut lost a bid for state representative for District 4 in 2012 to Steve Spratt (D-Greenville) and Kermit Williams (D-Wilton). Williams confirmed in a recent interview that his name will again be on the ballot for District 4, which includes Greenville, Wilton, Lyndeborough and Francestown. As of press time Wednesday, Spratt had not filed for re-election.

District 24, which includes only Peterborough, will have at least one new representative this year, with Democrat Jill Schaffer-Hammond of Peterborough reporting she will not be seeking re-election. Schaffer-Hammond will be stepping down, after serving three terms in the Legislature, to focus more on her personal life and local volunteer efforts. Her fellow representative for the district, Peter Leishman (D-Peterborough), however, has filed again. District 24 has two seats to fill.

In District 3, Jonathan Manley Sr., (D-Bennington) has filed for re-election for the single seat to represent Bennington, Greenfield and Hancock. “I always try to think of families, working people, children and women, and always be on the side of those people when I vote, and I’ll continue doing that,” said Manley, who will be a second-term representative if elected.

District 25 will also likely keep its current representatives, with Republican representatives Jim Coffey and Jim Parison, both of New Ipswich, the only ones currently filed to represent the towns of New Ipswich, Sharon and Temple.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.