Wintry precip.
Wintry precip.
Hi 5° | Lo -12°

FPU sweeps conference soccer rookie awards

A pair of Franklin Pierce University freshmen soccer players caught the eyes of opposing coaches in the Northeast-10 Conference this season and it led to some high honors.

Nico Mueller of the men’s team and Hannah Weagle of the women’s squad were recently named the NE-10 Rookies of the Year.

In addition to the major end of season awards from the conference, Mueller and Weagle were also named to the All NE-10 Second-Team and the league’s all-rookie teams.

Weagle, a forward from Ipswich, Mass., scored 11 goals in her rookie campaign to lead the Ravens and finished third overall in the NE-10 in goals scored. Her 26 points also led FPU and was second in the conference. Weagle started 17 of the team’s 18 games and had at least one-point in 11 games and scored a goal in nine different matches. Three of her goals came as game winners and she also had four assists.

She is the third FPU women’s soccer player to win the award. FPU’s season closed with a 1-0 loss in overtime to Merrimack in the NE-10 quarterfinals.

Mueller, a midfielder from Mannheim, Germany, led the Ravens in goals, assists and points. He scored seven goals, dished out four assists and finished with 18 points. Mueller was ninth in the NE-10 in goals and 11th in points. In an Oct. 27 meeting with Le Moyne, Mueller scored a late second half goal to send the game into overtime and tallied the game winner with one second remaining.

The FPU men’s soccer team’s season ended in the first round of the NCAA Division II tournament with its third 1-0 loss to Merrimack.

In addition to the rookie of the year selections, FPU had numerous players selected for the all NE-10 teams.

The men had four players selected for the all-conference teams. Graduate defender Daniel Donaldson and senior back Tyler Rosa were named to the NE-10 first-team, while seniors Amory Houghton and Greg Giguere were placed on the third-team.

For the women, graduate midfielder Ayo Noguchi landed on the conference first team and junior forward Talita Pereira was named to the second team.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.