Waiver rejected; Estey re-elected as chair

ANTRIM — Butch Estey of Peterborough was re-elected as chair of the ConVal School Board at the board’s March 20 meeting.

Estey was elected after board members rejected a request by Myron Steere of Greenfield for a waiver to allow him to run even though he has served only one year on the board.

Board member Matt Craig of Sharon said the policy of having a two-year waiting period before someone could serve as chair provides time for board members to get to know and observe a new member and Crista Salamy of Antrim said it gives the new person time to become familiar with the position.

“There’s so much to learn,” Salamy said. “I don’t think you can get it all under your belt in a year.”

After the board voted not to grant his waiver request, Steere seconded the nomination of Estey for the job of chair and Estey was unanimously elected in a roll call vote of the board, which has four new members who were attending their first meeting — Jon Ingram of Peterborough, Pierce Rigrod of Hancock, Fiona Tibbetts of Dublin and Rich Cahoon of Antrim.

Stewart Brock of Francestown was elected as vice-chair.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.