Hi 21° | Lo 13°


SAC to help review Articles of Agreement

PETERBOROUGH — Members of ConVal’s Selectmen’s Advisory Committee committed to participating in a renewed effort by the school district’s District Study Committee, which is planning to review the district’s Articles of Agreement — except for those articles that could relate to school consolidation — and to try to identify area where cost efficiencies could be found.

The District Study Committee was formed last year, made up of representatives of both the School Board and the Selectmen’s Advisory Committee to address issues related to declining enrollment. During their initial meetings, the group identified three issues that they might study — exploring consolidation of schools, looking at opportunities for greater efficiencies, and finding ways to increase enrollment by encouraging more families with children to move to the district. At early meetings, the group decided that issues of school consolidations had already been resolved, at least for the time being, by the votes at the March 2013 district meeting that rejected proposals related to possible school closing. The group chose to focus on looking at other ways to cut costs.

During the past year, attendance by SAC members was sporadic, according to School Board member Fiona Tibbetts of Dublin, who served on the District Study Committee during the past year. She said that prevented the committee from accomplishing much in the past year.

“We were ready to go. We would have been thrilled. No one from SAC showed up,” Tibbetts said at the May 22 SAC meeting.

The ConVal School Board, at a recent meeting, endorsed a request by District Study Committee members to continue the committee, contingent on having good attendance by SAC member at the first few meetings.

School Board representatives on the District Study Committee this year will be Tibbetts, Rich Cahoon of Antrim, Pierce Rigrod of Hancock and Tom Ferenc of Peterborough. At last week’s meeting, Select Board members Scott Carbee of Francestown, Barbara Miller of Peterborough, John Robertson of Antrim and John Jordan of Hancock agreed to serve on the committee as well.

Jordan and Carbee said they expected much greater participation by Select Board members this year.

Cahoon and Carbee will be co-chairs for the District Study Committee. A date for its first meeting has not yet been set.

Dave Anderson can be reached at 924-7172, ext. 233 or He’s on Twitter at @DaveAndersonMLT.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.