Front porch reproduction of the Halfway House Hotel. Chuck Willette of Roxbury, N.H., husband of Lee Willette and Monadnock volunteer, stands in the doorway.
The Visitor Center at Monadnock State Park recently received a major facelift, having been redesigned for the first time since 1986. The opening ceremony took place this past Saturday.
Monadnock State Park Volunteer Coordinator Lee Willette, Ann Royce of the Monadnock Advisory Council, and Phil Bryce of the State Parks cut the ribbon. Willette coordinated and implemented most of the redesign, including a facade of the original Halfway House Hotel, which was originally built in 1860, suffered several fires and rebuilds,before finally burning down in 1954. The reproduction of the front porch includes a diorama where visitors can view an interior photo of the old hotel through the front window.