Many to thank for July 4 event

To the editor:

The 14th Annual Fourth of July reading of the Declaration of Independence at the Jaffrey Meetinghouse was a festive and patriotic occasion enjoyed by a standing-room only audience. The events that followed — open houses at the Little Red Schoolhouse, the presence of Jaffrey’s antique 1931 Seagrave fire engine and the Ice Cream Social in the horsesheds — were fitting complements.

The sponsoring groups would like to thank all those who participated and helped out:

Welcome: Susan Campbell, Jaffrey Center Village Improvement Society.

Presentation of the Declaration: Lily & Oliver Tullio.

Readers of the Declaration, in order of appearance: Marc Tieger, William Weibel, Frank Sterling, Alicia Cournoyer, Owen Houghton, Kathleen LaRue, Richard Ames, Bonnie Mitchell, Tom Rothermel, Bill Schofield, Dennis Wright, Ann Marie Furnival, Don MacIsaac, Michael Redmond, Joe Hileman, Peter Straus, Bruce Larsen, Stephanie Minteer, Lucy Meyers, Becky Newton, Katie Gardella, Clay Hollister, Michaele Osgood, Liz Tong, Jack Belletete, David Chamberlain, Jeffrey Clark-Kevan, Linda Cramb, Ken Campbell, Caroline Hollister, Hal Danser, Rick Stein, Peter Russell, Delaney Beaven, Christopher Newton, Chastity Dupuis, Kaitlyn Teixera and Mariah Chamberlain.

Reader coordination: Frank Sterling. Piano: Louise Watson. Leading us in “Yankee Doodle”: Ellen Avery. Bell ringing: Christopher Newton. Flowers: Claire Bean, Jane Cunningham and Dee Poole. Handouts and numbers: Rob Stephenson. Fans: Janet and Linda Grant. Sound system, lent by the Amos Fortune Forum: Sean Driscoll. Little Red Schoolhouse: Jacqueline Johnson. Seagrave Fire Engine: Bill Driscoll. Refreshments: Janet Grant, Gunilla Johanson, Patty Scholl.

Robert B. Stephenson

Jaffrey, on behalf of the cosponsors: Jaffrey Historical Society, Jaffrey Center Village Improvement Society, Jaffrey Historic District Commission Selectmen’s Meetinghouse Committee.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.