Paper wins 31 awards at annual press event

Anderson again named N.H. Writer of Year

MANCHESTER ­— The Monadnock Ledger-Transcript won 31 of the 65 awards handed out to non-daily newspapers Friday night at the annual New Hampshire Press Association awards banquet Friday in Manchester.

Reporter Dave Anderson was named New Hampshire Writer of the Year for non-daily papers for the second straight year, and the newspaper took second place in general excellence. In addition to his Writer of the Year honor, he took home 7 other awards, including first place in four writing categories. Reporter Ashley Saari also won 7 individual awards, including one first-place honor.

The Ledger-Transcript staff also won first place for Best Use of Social Media and Best Feature Section for HealthFirst magazine. Judy Tomlinson and Clare McCarthy won first place for Best Local Advertising Supplement Cover. The staff also won third place for Spot News Story and Front Page Design.

Other individual winners included:

Carole Allen won first place for Best Photo Story, and she received special recognition from the New Hampshire Press Association and colleagues at the Ledger-Transcript.

Anderson won first place for Spot News Story, Business/Economic Reporting, Health Issues Reporting and Social Issues Reporting. He also took second place for Spot News Photo and Health Issues Reporting and third place for Government Reporting.

Saari won first place for Feature Story, second place for General News Photo, Spot News Story and Picture Story, and third place for General News Photo, Spot News Photo and Social Issues Reporting.

Tim Goodwin won first place for Sports Section, second place for Sports News Story and Sports Game Story and third place for Sports Feature story.

Alyssa Dandrea won first place for Education Story, second place for Investigative Reporting and Feature Story and third place for Business/Economic Reporting.

Nick Reid won third place for Investigative Reporting.

Legacy Comments1

Congratulations to you all.

Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.