Share thoughts  on Conservancy

To the editor:

Five years ago, the Land Trust Accreditation Commission recognized the Monadnock Conservancy as an accredited institution. The Monadnock Conservancy, which serves the 35 towns of southwestern New Hampshire, was the first land trust in New Hampshire and originally one of only 39 land trusts nationwide to be awarded this designation. Today there are 230 accredited land trusts in the United States.

The commission, an independent program of the Land Trust Alliance, conducts an extensive review of each applicant’s policies and programs. The award of accreditation shows that the land trust meets national quality standards for protecting important natural places and working lands forever.

The Monadnock Conservancy is pleased to announce it is applying for renewal of accreditation.

The commission invites public input and accepts signed, written comments about organizations with pending applications. Comments must relate to how the Monadnock Conservancy complies with national quality standards. These standards address the ethical and technical operation of a land trust. For the full list of standards see http://www.landtrustaccreditation.org/tips-and-tools/indicator-practices.

To learn more about the accreditation program and to submit a comment, visit www.landtrustaccreditation.org, or email your comment to info@landtrustaccreditation.org.

Comments may also be mailed or faxed to the Land Trust Accreditation Commission, Attn: Public Comments: (mail) 112 Spring Street, Suite 204, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866. (fax) 518-587-3183; comments on the Monadnock Conservancy’s application will be most useful if received by December 31, 2013.

We are most grateful for the support we have received from the community over the years. We encourage all to submit comments. This is the best opportunity for people to share their views about the work of the Monadnock Conservancy.

Ryan Owens

Executive Director

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.