ConVal puts on “Godspell”

Thursday, April 06, 2017 3:2PM

ConVal Drama and Music presents Godspell on Thursday, April 13, Friday, April 14 , and Saturday, April 15 at 7 p.m., with a matinee performance Saturday, April 15 at 2 p.m. in the Lucy Hurlin Theatre at ConVal High School, Peterborough.

The Friday evening performance of Godspell is dedicated to Elizabeth Marble. A portion of this evening’s proceeds will be donated in her memory to the “Fill The Void” campaign for The Contoocook Valley Visual and Performing Arts Center. Marble was a tireless supporter of the proposed Arts Center and a lover of the arts in general. For more information about the “Fill The Void” campaign or the Arts Center, please contact Rob Eichler at reichler@convalvpac.org or visit www.convalvpac.org.

Tickets for Godspell are available online at: our.show/chs/g2017 — limited seats are available at the door an hour before show time. Adult tickets are $10 and students and seniors are $5.

Based on parables from the book of Matthew in the Bible, Schwartz, also well-known for his scores for the classic Pippin and the smash hit, Wicked, features a wide variety of musical styles including the songs “Day by Day,” “By My Side,” and “We Beseech Thee.” Combined with simple staging and a message of community, Godspell reminds us all how much one person can impact and influence one another with tolerance, love and compassion.

ConVal District students performing in “Godspell” are: Sunny Badrawy, Riley Bemont, Grace Christensen, Beckett Gourlay, Emma Crowley, Liam McCall, Ella McCullough, Quinn Potter and Luke Wilson from Peterborough; Cameron Ibach and Carly Storro from Antrim.

Students producing the technical and backstage elements are Ryan Hoiriis, Nick Batty, Evan Boisvert, Elizabeth Guptil, Max Heck, Rachel Hurley, Diego Juarez, Rachel Sturgess, Addison Swasey, and Palmer Timmons.

Godspell is under the direction of: Krystal Morin (musical direction) and Liz Halper (stage direction). Additional production staff include: Rachel Moore (choreography), Bruce Dodge (set design) and Katherine Heck (technical direction).