MacDowell chooses 154 fellows

  • (Clockwise from top left): Daaimah Mubashshir by Joanna Eldredge Morrissey, Miguel Braceli courtesy of Sugar Hill Museum, Kevin Day by Sara Bill Photography Karen Cubides Agency, Samin Nosrat by Joanna Eldredge Morrissey, Sahraa Karimi courtesy of the artist, Hannah Marks by Anna Powell Denton, Mark Thomas Gibson and Andrew Demirjian by Joanna Eldredge Morrissey. —COURTESY PHOTO

Published: 9/12/2023 12:19:43 PM

An international group of 154 artists working in multiple disciplines has been awarded fellowships at the MacDowell artist residency program in Peterborough.

Fellowships are distributed by seven discipline-specific admissions panels who choose artists in a blind process based on the content of their proposed projects and work samples. This latest group of individuals was chosen from MacDowell’s second-largest applicant pool in its history, 2,034, for an admissions rate of 8%

Awardees range in age from 21 to 72 and will be traveling to Peterborough from 30 U.S. states, Australia, Canada, China, Germany, Nigeria, Portugal and Switzerland. More than half identify as women, while close to 30% identify as men and the remaining identifying as gender expansive. Approximately 70 percent will visit MacDowell for the first time and almost 60 percent of the incoming artists self-identify as artists of color.

“The incoming group showcases the wonderfully diverse and immensely creative artists that have been a feature of the MacDowell culture for several years now,” stated Executive Director Chiwoniso Kaitano, who began in her role last March. “In continuing our legacy of awarding fellowships to some of the world’s most-innovative and original minds and art makers, we are welcoming a remarkable group of artists this autumn and winter and hope they find the quiet, inspiration, and community that has worked its magic for so many others in the past. This is a group we anticipate will be leaving their own indelible marks on world culture for years to come.”

Fellows receive a maximum expense-free stay of six weeks each. Fellows receive a studio, living quarters and three meals a day. Needs-based stipends are available to artists who would not otherwise be able to afford the time away from home or work that a fellowship requires. The next application period opens on Jan. 1, 2024, with a deadline of Feb. 10 for residencies to be scheduled from September through March of 2025.

According to discipline, incoming fellows are:

Architects – Kevin Benham, Brandon Clifford, Edward Ford, Hamish Lonergan, Ryan Tyler Martinez, Francesca Mavaracchio, Brittany Utting and Mimi Zeiger.

Composers – Lembit Beecher, Eve Beglarian, Paul Brantley, Luke Carlson, Chaya Czernowin, Kevin Day, Tyler Eschendal, Daniel Felsenfeld, Hannah Marks, Migiwa Miyajima, Dafna Naphtali, Alvaro Nunez Carbullanca, Jeffrey Nytch, Frank Ticheli and Philip Venables.

Film/video artists -- Lilli Carré, Burak Cevik, Elenie Chung, Ryan Craver, Ewurakua Dawson-Amoah, Carl Elsaesser, Ingrid Jungermann, Sahraa Karimi, Hazel Katz, Dwayne LeBlanc, Jennie Livingston, Alena Lodkina, Mireya Martinez, Ross Meckfessel, Alex Morelli, Darol Olu Kae, Rajee Samarasinghe, Alisha Tejpal, Qiong Wang and Sasha Wortzel.

Interdisciplinary artists -- Jisoo Chung, Andrew Demirjian, Carmina Escobar, Bentrice Jusu, Ivy McLendon, Bebe Miller, Elizabeth Miller, Kameron Neal, Ahamefule J. Oluo, Andrew Ondrejcak, Amina Ross and SA Smythe.

Theater artists – Amy Berryman, Anooj Bhandari, Amara Janae Brady, Steph Del Rosso, Carolina Do, Sam Grabiner, Jesse Jae Hoon, C.A. Johnson, Peter Kim George, Diana Lobontiu, Luz Lorenzana Twigg, Daaimah Mubashshir, Aya Ogawa, Carmen Pelaez, Kevin Renn, Christopher Shinn and Ken Urban.

Visual artists -- Roya Amigh, Tatiana Arocha, Hannah Beerman, Miguel Braceli, Erwin Brea, Susan Campbell, Cameron Clayborn, Nancy Cohen, Monica de Miranda, James Esber, Mark Thomas Gibson, Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Patte Loper, Katherine Tzu-Lan Mann, Sarah McKenzie, Elliot Mercer, Kristen Mills, Toni Pepe, Shelley Reed, Pallavi Sen, Rebecca Soderholm, Yubing Tan, Tree Williams and Yixuan Wu.

Poets and writers -- Adams Adeosun, Ally Ang, Cyd Apellido, Harrison Candelaria Fletcher, Jennifer Chang, Kirsten Shu-ying Chen, Adrienne Chung, Ama Codjoe, Robert Colgate, Katie Condon, Garrard Conley, David DeGusta, Erica Frederick, Mary Gaitskill, Racquel Goodison, Rachel Greenwald Smith, Andrew Sean Greer, Rachel E. Gross, Tess Gunty, Rachel Han, Ronnie Huett, Zainab Hussein, Allegra Hyde, Osahon Ize-Iyamu, Jared Jackson, Roland Jackson, May Jeong, Rogelio Juarez, Jennifer Krasinski, Ru Kuwahata, Cesario Lavery, JC Lee, Matthew Lippman, Victor Lodato, Anne Haven McDonnell, Rebecca Nagle, Jandy Nelson, Diana Khoi Nguyen, Elizabeth Nicholas, Samin Nosrat, Tomi Obaro, Enuma Okoro, Lilliam Rivera, A.J. Rodriguez, Aisha Sabatini Sloan, Abby Santamaria, Caroline Schmidt, Giada Scodellaro, Eleni Sikelianos, Curtis Sittenfeld, Barbara Sostaita, Laura Spence-Ash, Gwen Strauss, Maureen Sun, Anya Ulinich, Sarah Wang, Robin Wasserman and Jenny Zhang.

Sign up for Monadnock Ledger-Transcript Newsletters
Monadnock Ledger-Transcript Headline Alerts
Monadnock Ledger-Transcript MLT Minute North
Monadnock Ledger-Transcript MLT Minute South
Monadnock Ledger-Transcript Real Estate & Transactions
Monadnock Ledger-Transcript Contests and Promotions
Monadnock Ledger-Transcript Dining & Entertainment
Monadnock Ledger-Transcript Sports


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Monadnock Ledger-Transcript, your source for Peterborough area news.

Monadnock Ledger-Transcript

20 Grove St.
Peterborough, NH 03458


© 2021 Monadnock Ledger-Transcript
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy