Chamber to award Legends of Business

Monadnock Ledger-Transcript
Thursday, March 09, 2017 5:48AM

After seven years of dormancy, the Greater Peterborough Chamber of Commerce has resurrected its Legends of Business award.

Yearly, the chamber distributes its awards for business, nonprofit, woman and man of the year. And once, it would give the Legends of Business award to several recipients in the same field – government, builders or publishing, for example, explained Chamber Executive Director Sean Ryan. 

This year, the Chamber has announced that for the first time since 2010, it will be awarding the Legends of Business once again. And to restart the tradition, Cy Gregg, Stanley Fry, Charles “Chubb” Whitten and Malaise Lindenfeld have been named as recipients.

The Chamber has also named its nominees for its four other awards, which will be officially awarded in a ceremony on March 30.

In the Business of the Year category, the nominees are Ava Marie Handmade Chocolates, Belletetes, Nature’s Green Grocer and Little River Bed and Breakfast.

In the Nonprofit of the Year category, the nominees are The Peterborough Players, the River Center, Touchstone Farm and the Monadnock United Way.

For Woman of the Year, the nominees are Laura Gingras, Margaret Nelson, Jeanne Dietsche and Kin Schilling.

In Man of the Year, the nominees are Norman Makechnie, Bob Pettegrew, Jim Orr and Rodney Bartlett. 

The 217 Awards Gala will be held on March 30 at the Shattuck Cathedral Ballroom in Jaffrey from 5:30 to 9 p.m.. Tickets are $50 per person or $355 for a table of eight. To buy tickets, call 924-7234.