Incumbents returned to county seats

  • Election Day at the polls in Peterborough

Monadnock Ledger-Transcript
Monday, November 14, 2016 5:34PM

Last Tuesday was a good day for incumbents running for county office positions, with a number of those who ran returning to their seats. 

Hillsborough County

Sheriff James A. Hardy was re-elected to his post after defeating Bill Barry and Richie Merrett 99,601 votes to 76,941 to 15,463 respectively. 

Incumbent attorney Dennis Hogan defeated Garth Corriveau 105,928 votes to 83,121.

Treasurer David G. Fredette will retain his seat after defeating Jon Hopwood by almost 30,000 votes. 

Pamela D. Coughlin will continue on as register of deeds after defeating Louise A. Wright. 

B.J. Perry defeated William Bryk in a battle for the county’s register of probate seat. 

Robert H. Rowe will be the new county commissioner for district three after Carol H. Holden did not run for re-election. Rowe defeated Susan Ladmer 39,106 votes to 30,398.

District three covers Amherst, Antrim, Bennington, Brookline, Deering, Francestown, Goffstown, Greenfield, Greenville, Hancock, Hillsborough, Hollis, Lyndeborough, Mason, Merrimack, Milford, Mont Vernon, New Ipswich, Peterborough, Sharon, Temple, Weare, Wilton, and Windsor. 

Cheshire County

Sheriff Eli Rivera will serve a third term after defeating Earl Nelson 20,394 votes to 18,727. 

Attorney Chris McLaughlin ran unopposed and will retain his seat.

There will be a new treasurer after incumbent Roger Zerba did not run for re-election. John G. Wozmak defeated Joseph W. Bendzinski 20,573 votes to 16,462. 

Anna Z. Tilton retained her seat as register of deeds after running opposed. She did not run for re-elect for register of probate, however, opening the door for Jeremy LaPlante to defeat Susan J. Castor. 

The only upset in Cheshire County was incumbent county commissioner Stillman Rogers, who lost his district three seat to Joseph Cartwright 7,098 votes to 6,179.

District three serves Alstead, Dublin, Fitzwilliam, Gilsum, Harrisville, Jaffrey, Marlow, Nelson, Richmond, Rindge, Stoddard, Sullivan, and Troy. 

Nicholas Handy can be reached at 924-7172 ext. 235 or nhandy@ledgertranscript.com. He is also on Twitter @nhandyMLT.