A look at state races

  • New Hampshire’s primary election is Sept. 13 and the general election is Nov. 8.  File photo

Monadnock Ledger-Transcript
Published: 6/20/2016 7:17:25 PM

The following candidates have declared for various NH state races. All candidates filed between June 1-10. Third party candidates have filed declarations of intent and still need to collect a certain number of signatures – specified by the level of office – turned in by August. 


Fourteen candidates are vying for the seat soon to be vacated by Maggie Hassan, who announced she will run for US senator. Frank Edelblut, Jeanie Forrester, Ted Gatsas, Jonathan Lavoie, and Chris Sununu are on the Republican ticket, while Democrats Mark Connolly, Derek Dextraze, Ian Freeman, Steve Marchand, and Colin Van Ostern hope to keep the seat blue. Third party candidates William E. Fortune, Jilletta Jarvis, Michael Gill, and Max Abramson have also filed.

US Senator

Kelly Ayotte will run for a second term as US senator. Joining her are fellow Republicans Tom Alciere, Gerald Beloin, Stanley Michael Emanuel, and Jim Reubens. Maggie Hassan is the lone Democrat running, while Aaron Day, Brian Chabot, and John Riggieri will represent third party options. 


Democrat Ann McLane Kuster will face a strong Republican front to retain the District 2 congressional seat, as Eric P. Estevez, Jack B. Flanagan, Walter W. Kelly, Jim Lawrence, Andy Martin, Jay Mercer, and Casey Newell are all looking to turn the seat red. Third party candidate John J. Babiarz is also running. 

Executive Council

Four candidates hope to take over as executive councilor for district 2, with Colin Van Ostern announcing a gubernatorial run. Republican Sam Cataldo will run against Democrats Shawn Mickelonis, John D. Shea, and Andru Volinsky. District 2 covers Dublin and Hancock. 

Republican David K. Wheeler will work to retain his position as district 5 executive councilor, with his lone competition being Democrat Dan Weeks. District 5 covers Antrim, Bennington, Francestown, Greenfield, Greenville, Jaffrey, Lyndeborough, Mason, New Ipswich, Peterborough, Rindge, Sharon, Temple, and Wilton. 

State Senator

Republican Gerald Little will not seek re-election for district 8, which covers Antrim, Bennington, and Francestown. Republicans Jim Beard and Ruth Ward will compete against Democrat John Garvey and third-party candidate John A. Jeskevicius. 

Republican Andy Sanborn hopes to be elected to a third term as district 9 senator, but must outlast Democrats Jeanne Dietsch and Lee C. Nyquist. District 9 covers Greenfield, Jaffrey, Lyndeborough, Peterborough, Temple, Sharon, Dublin, and Hancock. 

Republican Gary Daniels will face off against Democrat Roger Tilton, in an effort to retain his seat as district 11 senator. District 11 covers Wilton. 

Incumbent Republican Kevin Avard will seek a second term as district 12 senator, but he first must defeat Democrat Peggy Gilmour. District 12 covers Greenville, Mason, New Ipswich, and Rindge. 

For a list of candidates who have filed for various state representative offices in the Monadnock region, be sure to read Thursday’s edition of the Ledger-Transcript. 


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Monadnock Ledger-Transcript, your source for Peterborough area news.

Monadnock Ledger-Transcript

20 Grove St.
Peterborough, NH 03458


© 2020 Monadnock Ledger-Transcript
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy